Yes! We buy used guns, take trades and will Consign your firearm. We charge a 20% Consignment fee upon the sale of the firearm.
Second Amendment Sports, Inc. offers a Lifetime Warranty, which goes above and beyond any Manufacturer Warranty, for as long as you own that firearm. We only offer Lifetime Warranties on NEW firearms we sell. We do not Warranty used firearms, military surplus or stripped lower receivers.
We have a full-service Gunsmithing shop in our Tucson, AZ location. We can ship your firearm there to have it serviced, then returned to our location for you to pickup once the service is complete.
However, simple Armorer jobs like: sight installation or mount and boresights can be done in-house.
Please bring your unloaded firearm to any of our salesmen. If you purchased the firearm New from us, it is covered under our Lifetime Warranty. We cover all shipping and repair costs.
However, if you purchased the firearm Used or elsewhere, you may be charged freight and repair costs from the Manufacturer.
The repair turnaround varies. If a firearm is replaced, you will have to fill out a Federal Form 4473 and DROS in order to receive the new firearm.
The short answer is, yes.
The Federal Form 4473 is a transaction record for the BATFE for firearms transferred to clients.
The Dealer Record of Sale (DROS) is a transaction record for the California DOJ for firearms transferred to clients.
We are required to complete this process to have a record of transfer for every firearm sold to a client. We know it’s painful, expensive and time consuming, but we try to make it as painless as possible.
As a California Resident, you will need a CA Real Identification Card or CA Real Driver License, or a Limited CA ID/DL along with a Supporting Document (like an Official Birth Certificate or Passport).
Please see Item No. 7 in our “How to Purchase a Firearm” tutorial.
While we cannot transfer a firearm directly to you through our FFL and a background check, we can sell a firearm to you and transfer it to an FFL Dealer in your own State to complete the process of transferring the firearm to you.
Please see Item No. 8 in our “How to Purchase a Firearm” tutorial.
If you have anything in your past that you are afraid will haunt you and hinder you from owning a firearm – a DROS is not the way to find out. There are a couple reasons you may be Denied:
1. Do you have any money owed or issues with the DMV? Ex: unpaid tickets, registrations, etc.
2. Any violent crimes or restraining orders within their statute of limitations.
3. Any felony crimes.
The CA DOJ has an Eligibility Application, which you can fill out and send in to confirm whether you would be eligible to own a firearm before jumping through all the necessary hoops ($20): https://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/agweb/pdfs/firearms/forms/pfecapp.pdf
To purchase a handgun (pistol or revolver) or lower receiver, you must be 21 years old to purchase and complete a DROS.
To purchase a shotgun or rifle, you must be 18 years old to purchase and complete a DROS.
An FSC is a Firearm Safety Certificate, which is required in order to purchase a firearm in the State of California. There are exemptions to the program, which are listed here: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/fscfaqs#c6
DOJ $15 Fee
You must have an FSC or an FSC exemption to purchase a firearm in the State of California.
Yes, for a DOJ $5 Fee. You must return to the original FFL Dealer/FSCCI in order to have an FSC reprinted.
The DOJ doesn’t simply charge a “DROS” fee. For firearms transactions, they charge:
DOJ Dealer Record of Sale (DROS) Fee of $31.19
DOJ Safety an Enforcement Fee of $5
DOJ Firearm Safety Device fee of $1
Which makes your actual total of $37.19 per DROS.
The California DOJ has a short list of what they consider legal to sell in the State of California. This is not just by firearm Make and Model, but also by Manufacturer Part Number. Before you buy anything from our Online Store or any other FFL to have transferred to us, please do your research first. The full list is here: https://www.oag.ca.gov/firearms/certified-handguns/search
If you are unsure, please give us a call and we’ll be able to tell you whether or not the handgun you are interested in is legal or not in the state of California.
The DOJ typically only contacts us if a client is Delayed or Denied. If not, firearm transactions are typically moved to a “Proceed” resolution after the statutory 10 day wait. In a typical environment, we operate under a “no news is good news,” and you’re good to come in and pick up your firearm.
Effective July 1, 2019, the California DOJ began requiring that ammunition purchases were to undergo an “eligibility check.” It’s a background check.
If you have purchased ammunition since the DOJ started this process on July 1, 2019, the background check costs $1 and usually only takes a couple minutes in the DOJ’s Automated Firearm System (AFS).
If you have not purchased a firearm or ammunition in recent history, the eligibility check may take days to process and will cost $19, as a DOJ Fee.
Same as a firearm transfer, you will need a CA ID/DL, preferably a Real ID/DL. If you do not have a Real ID/DL, you will be required to provide a supporting document for your name. Ex: Official Birth Certificate, Valid Passport, etc. Please see the full list from the DOJ’s website here: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/apfaqs#2
As long as the firearms are legal to own in the state of California, you can fill out a Voluntary Registration form and mail it to the DOJ (along with a nominal fee of $19, of course): https://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/agweb/pdfs/firearms/forms/volreg.pdf
A Private Party Transfer is when an individual transfers/sells her own property to another individual. While it is illegal in other states for the government to involve themselves in your personal property, the State of California likes to get their money out of that one as well. If you plan on selling a firearm, and have a buyer, both individuals must go to a licensed FFL Dealer to complete the transfer and pay the DROS fee. Both must have proper identification to complete the process and the Buyer will have an FSC or FSC exemption, and wait the statutory 10 day wait in order to pick up the firearm(s). The Seller only needs to be present to start the process. The Seller does not need to be present when the Buyer picks up the firearm(s).
The DOJ charges:
DOJ Dealer Record of Sale (DROS) fee of $31.19
DOJ Safety and Enforcement fee of $5
DOJ Firearm Safety Device fee of $1
DOJ Private Party Transfer fee of $10
for a Total of $47.19
and a Private Party Transfer fee of $10 for each subsequent firearm.
In order to waive the statutory 10 day waiting period for firearm transfers, the DOJ requires a letter with specific verbiage to be provided at the time of running the DROS. Please see here for their requirements: https://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/agweb/pdfs/firearms/forms/volreg.pdf
We also provide a standard, blank letter for our LEO clients to use as a reference. If you would like a copy, please contact us.
If you do not have a CA ID/DL or Real CA ID/DL, you may still purchase a firearm using your Military Identification Card, along with a copy of your Permanent Change of Station Duty Orders. These cannot be web orders, but original version detailing your “Assigned to” location within the state of California.
Yes, you can! Please bring your Resident Alien Identification Card along with your CA ID/DL or CA Real ID/DL to purchase a firearm. Please note that your full name must match on all identification, including first, middle and last name order.
Yes, you can!
If you are a resident of a country participating in the Visa Waiver Program, you simply must provide:
1. California ID/DL (with supporting document) or California Real ID/DL
2. Documentation with your I-94 Number in order to purchase a firearm. This may be a web print out, stamped or printed with your passport or an actual I-94 Card. Any document that has printed “I-94” on it is acceptable.
3. A Valid Hunting License
If you purchased a firearm elsewhere and would like to transfer it to us to complete the paperwork process, please see more information here to set that up: https://2ndamendmentsports.com/bakersfield-services/bakersfield-d2d/
BUYING FROM OUR ONLINE STORE
You must confirm that a firearm is legal to own before purchasing it. Please either contact us or confirm a handgun is on the DOJ’s Roster of Approved Handguns Certified to Sell, here: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/certified-handguns/search
Depending on the rifle, you may have a “Large Capacity Magazine.” Please call to confirm whether or not a rifle or magazine is an issue.
After placing an order online, you will receive an order confirmation email. From the date of that email, an order typically takes about 14 days to process and receive. As stated on the website, the online store is not in-store merchandise. Our online store inventory comes from our distributors. If there are any issues or delays with the order, you will be contacted by email or by phone. Once we receive your order, we will call you at the phone number you provided.
***DUE TO COVID-19 OUR DISTRIBUTORS ARE RUNNING ABOUT 20-30 BUSINESS DAYS OUT ON SHIPPING.
If you ordered a firearm, we cannot begin the DROS/NICS process until we receive the physical firearm. Once we receive it, we will contact you. You may then come in and begin the DRO/NICS process, which will start your 10 day statutory wait if you reside in California.
No, firearms and ammunition are received at our physical store so you may begin the legal process of eligibility checks and transfer.