West Bakersfield Dealer Record of Sale
California residents are required to complete a Dealer Record of Sale (DROS) with every firearm purchase. This includes Active Law Enforcement.
The State of California has a 10-day statutory waiting period, which begins when you complete your DROS. While you may pick up your firearm(s) at the end of the waiting period, you have up to thirty days to pick up your firearm(s). If your DROS expires and you must begin the process again. Active Law Enforcement may provide a letter from their department, waiving the 10 day waiting period http://2ndamendmentsports.com/files/3413/7493/5522/10_day_letter.pdf.
While California Residents may purchase as many handguns as they like, they must wait 30 days between handgun DROS’, per California law. Active Law Enforcement is exempt from this requirement.
California Residents must provide Proof of Residency with every handgun purchase, per California law. Active Law Enforcement is exempt from this requirement. For more information on Proof of Residency requirements, please call you nearest Second Amendment Sports, California location, or refer to the DOJ’s website: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/dlrfaqs#13G
California Residents must have an FSC (Firearm Safety Certificate) and perform a “Safe Handling Demonstration” with every firearm purchase. You may also use an HSC (Handgun Safety Certificate) for handgun purchases, if still valid. There are many exemptions to this requirement; please refer to the DOJ’s list to see if you are exempt from this requirement: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/fscfaqs#c6
For more information on the step by step process when purchasing a firearm in the State of California, please refer to our pictorial here.